Cabarrus County Schools Pre-Festival Concert

Thursday, March 26 6:00 PM

Northwest Cabarrus High School Symphonic Band

Director- Sam Bogan Grade IV/V

Dorchester Concert March Majestia **Dedicatory** Overture

Concord High School Wind Ensemble Director-Doug Morin Grade IV/V

The Billboard March Courtly Airs and Dances I. Intrada II. Basse Danse III. Pavane IV. Saltarello V. Sarabande VI. Allemande

Imani

Mount Pleasant High School Symphonic Band **Director- Bart Tulbert** Grade V

Normandy Beach *Symphonic Prelude (The Cemetery at Colleville-Sur-Mer)* Flight of the Piasa

> Hickory Ridge High School Symphonic Band **Director- Chris White** Grade VI

Military Escort Light Cavalry Overture Incidental Suite

Harold Bennett Franz Von Suppe arr. Fillmore Claude T. Smith

I. Tarantella II. Nocturne III. Rondo

Jay M. Robinson High School Symphonic Band **Director- Blair Smith** Grade VI

Queen City March Grant Them Eternal Rest

I. Introit II. Kyrie III. Dies Irae IV. Sanctus V.Agnus Dei

Britannic Variants

North Carolina Concert Festival

Purpose: To provide students and teachers a means of receiving constructive comments by competent judges, to stimulate and recognize musical growth, and to provide students and teachers a means of hearing musical works performed by other school groups.

Concert festival is viewed as the EOC test for bands all across North Carolina. Though the ensemble grade for performance is not counted toward or against school ABC's or AYP, the opportunity to perform "where it counts" is no less strenuous for the performers and their directors. Months of preparations go into one performance so that the best possible results can be achieved by our students. Cabarrus County has a fine tradition of well-performing ensembles and that tradition will continue tonight. Thank you to all of the students and their parents whose hard work has made this process possible.

Thanks

Dr. Barry Shepherd, Superintendent, Cabarrus County Schools

Eric Osterling James Swearingen Clifton Williams

Klohr/Yoder

Sean O'Loughlin

Ron Nelson

John Edmondson Mark Camphouse Robert Sheldon

W.H. Boorn Andrew Boysen Jr.

Elliot Del Borgo

Cabarrus County Board of Education